Exercises On Ellipsis

Use of Auxiliaries in Ellipsis

Fill in all the gaps. Add the short form construction using the words and so to each of the following affirmative statements. Use the subjects shown in brackets. For example:
He is lucky. (I)
He is lucky, and so am I.

She likes chocolate. (you)
She likes chocolate, and so do you.

They can swim well. (we)
They can swim well, and so can we.

1. We are thirsty. (they)
We are thirsty, and .
2. You have been helpful. (she)
You have been helpful, and .3. I swam to the island. (he)
I swam to the island, and .

4. He was riding a horse. (you)
He was riding a horse, and .

5. They can understand Dutch. (we)
They can understand Dutch, and .

6. She enjoyed the trip. (I)
She enjoyed the trip, and .

7. You should study hard. (they)
You should study hard, and .

8. He reads a great deal. (she)
He reads a great deal, and .

images (8)
Add the short form construction using the words and neither to each of the following negative statements. Use the subjects shown in brackets. For example:
He is not angry. (we)
He is not angry, and neither are we.

They didn’t visit you. (I)
They didn’t visit you, and neither did I.

I couldn’t understand it. (she)
I couldn’t understand it, and neither could she.

 

1. You haven’t finished supper. (she)
You haven’t finished supper, and .2. He couldn’t tell the time. (they)
He couldn’t tell the time, and .3. She is not planning to go. (we)
She is not planning to go, and .

4. We didn’t wait long. (he)
We didn’t wait long, and .

5. He has not been feeling well. (I)
He has not been feeling well, and .

6. She cannot run fast. (they)
She cannot run fast, and .

7. We do not own a canary. (he)
We do not own a canary, and .

8. You won’t be needing an umbrella. (we)
You won’t be needing an umbrella, and .

images (9)

One thought on “Exercises On Ellipsis

  1. Simple, yet very helpful exercises 😀

Leave a comment